ShoesDay: Sam & Libby Bow Flats

Happy ShoesDay!  This summer we are reminiscing on our favorite and least favorite shoes and what they meant for us.  The stories about those shoes tell a lot about us.  You can read about athletic Mary Janes here and platform wedge espadrilles here. For a delightful summer read, may I recommend the delightful book Love, Loss, and What I Wore by Ilene Beckerman. Join me as I remember my favorite flat: the Sam & Libby bow.

I remember the Sam & Libby bow flat craze like it was yesterday.  It was perfect with my high school uniform skirt, or jeans, a dress, or literally, whatever. At first I had only a few pairs in basic colors: black leather, and white leather.  But then I got them in the baby pink leather.  One summer I got a job at Mervyn’s, and picked up a bunch of knock-off’s with my associate discount.  Are you ready?  To my collection, I added black patent leather (with ribbon bows), black suede, and teal suede.  

#25years #samandlibby #stylestatement #90sfashion

These babies took me through the late 80s and into the early to mid 90s, even.    They were perfect for school, church, and work. Just a bit casual in their whimsy, and yet appropriate for more dressy situations such as an interview, or a wedding reception. And, those cute pink boxes!  Perfect for storing photos, letters, and other ephemera.

#shoesday #samandlibby #ballerinaflat #bowflat #stylestatement #pinkbox

During this time, I let my athletic shoes expire, being that I didn’t have to take P.E. anymore. (My two sports require their own shoes.)  I do recall my good friend in college saying “I don’t know anyone who doesn’t own a pair of tennis shoes.”  Later, I would pick up some classics- tune in next week!

I also ventured into another ballerina flat, the kind with loops for ankle straps.  I had white leather, and black leather.  I would switch out the leather straps for actual ribbon.  The perfect outlet for my INFP, Enneagram 4 (wing 2), creative introvert self.   I remember even wearing white ribbons with black music notes on them, ha ha.  I was so upset when 9 west discontinued the ankle strap ballet flat.  Any others are just not the same.

My writer’s journey would later lead me to the style statement quest- the style statement being more of a mission statement embedded within style words.  The book suggested statements such as Sacred Dramatic, and Refined Treasure.  What I found so interesting in exploring my own style statement, was that many words which appealed to me were from shoe style names and Etsy store names. What’s your Style Statement?  I do encourage this exercise in self-discovery, if you haven’t done this type of thing before. Style Statement: Live by Your Own Design is by Danielle LaPorte and Carrie McCarthy.

Sam & Libby came back last summer for a hot minute.  But even in Target, I felt they were overpriced.  I’ve moved on to the grown up Mary Jane. But I remember these shoes oh so fondly, as they were popular during my formative years.  You might say that I found myself in them. 

#RomanticIngenue

Leave a comment