B Street Mix is Back!

music

BOOM. BACK IN BLACK! BA-DA BOOM. I HIT THE SACK! BA-DA BOOM.

A HUMMA HUMMA HUMMA GLAD TO BE BACK!  

Did you really know all the words to your favorite songs on the radio back in the 80s?  Bonus points if you can tell me where this misheard lyric gem comes from: “Don’t switch the blade on the guy whose name is Ramon.”

Growing up in the 80s and going to school in the next town, B Street was the route my mom would take.  Later I drove myself to high school along the same route. I have such fond memories of listening to KFRC 610 AM radio in the family Pinto station wagon, and then popping in my cassettes for Wham! UK, Journey, and Saga in the “Plum” (read- Brown) Toyota Camry Sedan. And don’t get me started on my mix tapes.

Years later, as an adult, I found myself living in the same town and driving along the same street, after I dropped off my baby in my parents’ loving care. For twelve more years, B Street was my commute. And I popped in my 80s cassettes (or CDs) in my Honda CR-V.

Well, now I am back helping out at my old work location, and back on the B Street commute. I admit I wasn’t too thrilled with this change, at first. But my bestie reminded me that I could do the B Street Mix again, and that made me smile. I used to post on social media  the three 80s songs that made my playlist for that morning commute.  And my friends from all over would chime in about their happy  memories of the songs.

We are so lucky in the Bay Area to have an exclusively 80s music radio station, helmed by none other than MTV VJ Martha Quinn. And if you have Sirius XM satellite radio, there’s an 80s channel, as well as Classic Rewind, HairNation, and 1st Wave.  I also listen to Pandora.

Last Wednesday was my first day back on B Street. As I blasted Survivor’s Eye of the Tiger, I thought to myself, why don’t I  listen to this song every morning?

Today’s selections were “She’s Got the Look” by Roxette, “Wind Him Up” by Saga,  “Separate Ways” by Journey, and “More than a Feeling” by Boston.

What’s on your playlist?

#BStreetMix

3 thoughts on “B Street Mix is Back!

  1. (1) Yes. (2) As I know the story behind “Don’t switch the blade on the guy whose name is Ramon.” I shall refrain from responding (but of course I know the song, duh!)

Leave a Reply

