PSA: Don’t Leave your Girl Scout Cookies in the Car

The following is a true story.

Girl Scout Cookies come out this time, every year.  In California, we start to see the sun again, around this time, also.  Once I had forgotten that I had Thin Mints in the trunk of my car.  I went to retrieve them in the afternoon, but they had already melted. That’s okay, I thought, I’ll just put them in the freezer at work. Thin Mints taste extra good when frozen, right?

The thing was, as the chocolate icing had already melted, it was now frozen into a log.

I tried slicing the log with the plastic knives available at work.  Nope.  Broke the knife.

I started whacking the sleeve on the side of my desk at work.  Nope.  People started looking at me funny.

I really wanted my cookies now, Dammit!

I brought them home. Using a steak knife, I separated the log into four chunks.

Put them in my Magic Bullet blender, and enjoyed the cookie crumbles over ice cream.

Because sometimes you gotta do what you gotta do.

Am I Right?

mints

 

Denise Dwyer D’Errico is the author of Dee’s Dishes, stories and recipes, now available on Amazon.com

Leave a Reply

