Wellness Wednesday: Music

Happy Wednesday Wellness, Friends!  I have been away from the blog, as I wasn’t feeling too well, myself  But I’m back- sharing my perspective on wellness for my creative friends, readers, writers, and art-makers…

music

Recently Sirius XM Radio announced the Billy Joel Channel.  I was delighted, as I have a free trial for another little bit here, and I can enjoy Billy Joel music 24/7 while I decide if I will subscribe.  Billy’s music has been so special to me and my family, and I had even seen him perform in concert several times.  I don’t know why it didn’t occur to me to listen to his music more often.  He has an expansive catalog, covering decades of music in many styles and voices.  So much of his 80s and 90s music is central to my individuation, and I kinda love the 70s throwbacks, too.

My new car doesn’t have a CD player in it.  Yeah, it was kind of surprising to me, too.   There is a wonderful USB auxiliary port which connects to my phone quite nicely.  But it is not the same as popping in a CD.  (Don’t even get me started on my mix tapes.)

I have been enjoying the Sirius satellite radio free preview and have my 80s music channels pre-sets all dialed in.  Yes I know people don’t say dial in anymore.  My kids correct me whenever I talk about “taping” TV shows. “We record, now, Mom.” Yeah, whatever. Tape.

I was not prepared for how wonderful the Billy Joel channel would be, and how it has helped my wellness journey.  I dig the music and it is a treat to listen to it in live versions.  But I also love the callers’ testimonials and Billy’s recorded words about certain songs and phases of his life.  I love how he plays piano as he’s talking and plays his own music in the style of Mozart.  Brilliant.

His music is so melodic and his lyrics so poignant.  They can take me back to a time or take me to a higher place.  I do also enjoy the rougher rock side of his music, that may be as black as my shadow gets, LOL.  I love rediscovering the reflective gems that are typically the last slow songs on his albums.  Souvenir. The Night is Still Young. I could go on and on…

I’ve recounted some wonderful concert memories for my kids, including the best triangle solo ever!  I’m teaching my young daughter the echo vocals on River of Dreams.  My son now drums along.

If you ever need to release some Pressure, try teaching your kids to yell “Pressure!”  in the car whenever Billy Joel sings it.  Great way to relieve pressure.  I promise.  Try it!

What’s your go-to music?

 

Leave a Reply

