Wellness Wednesday: Eczema, Cream, and Kindness

Happy Wellness Wednesday! Okay, I know it is already Thursday. Sometimes I just need a little more time- and that’s my wellness practice for the day- practicing flexibility.  Do you know what I mean?

I was going to write about my eczema. Then I observed something today.  And it all tied together.  You’ll see.

In times of stress and too much gluten, I have this handy dandy recurring eczema on the back of my right hand. It is like an indicator button. Seriously.  It is round and red.  And it itches- screaming: Do Something!  Slow Down!  Lay off the gluten!

One time I tried eating Paleo for like a week. But it made me cranky.  And so I decided I had nothing against rice and grains, for one.  But I noticed that my eczema had disappeared.  Wait, what? So I read Wheat Belly and tried eating Gluten Free, for several months.  But then I’d go on vacation and the Sourdough bread at my favorite restaurant was calling me.  Or, hello, in Italy- how can one NOT eat pasta and pizza?  When in Rome…  I’d also tried alternate flours and alternate “breads,” but there’s nothing like flour.

So this past week or so had been a big eczema flare-up. I was just coming off a cold.  None of my lotions, oils, or serums were working their magic.  So I had resorted to using antibiotic-treated bandages, and covered the areas on my hand, finger, and wrist with them at night.  That seemed to help until the next day, at least.

I mentioned this to another soccer mom, and she listened, responding that she buys this special lotion for her daughter. She sent a tube along to school with her daughter for me, and Oh My Goodness!  This stuff really is magic!  It doesn’t itch anymore, and the big boo-boo is shrinking in size, slowly returning to my normal skin color.

I offered to pay her, and she said, not gonna happen. I said I wanted to do something nice for her.  She said, “Your relief is my gift.”

I am so touched by her kindness.

Then, this morning I witnessed a woman bring a homeless woman to McDonald’s, to dine together. She asked about her life.  I was close enough to hear them behind me, and I observed my young daughter looking intently.  Perhaps it was at the woman’s makeshift maxi skirt, made from regular t-shirts, one worn around her knees.  On this first day of Fall, we’d noticed evidence of precipitation on the roses in our yard this morning.  I can only imagine what a difference it makes to those sleeping out in the cold.  As I listened to their conversation, I was impressed with amazing warmth shown by the giver.  Treating this woman like a friend.  Asking her about her life, her feelings.  Providing food and companionship.

And I felt stupid and useless, because I wasn’t doing anything to help.

But I was providing witness. I was also providing an opportunity to show my daughter that kindness matters.

I am now inspired to gather our unused blankets at home. Lord knows, I have a ton of old purses and totes that I can fill with supplies and donate.  I may not find this woman in the pink t-shirt skirt, but somebody somewhere needs it.

Kindness and warmth.

 

How is your wellness practice this week?

 

2 thoughts on “Wellness Wednesday: Eczema, Cream, and Kindness

Leave a Reply

