Wednesday Wellness: Mantra

Hi, Friends!  Happy Wednesday Wellness!  I started writing about wellness topics on Wednesdays, because I noticed so many of my creative friends struggled with wellness, as do I.  Join me on my wellness journey as I fumble and stumble and keep trying.

Last week I caught a cold.

It was kind of a bummer, as I am now a early bird and need to be awake and alert and functioning at o’dark thirty.   And as luck would have it, I was scheduled to attend an all-day training seminar and take my notary public commission exam.  This is my teeny tiny desk area before the start of class.

desk

DoubleShot

Okay, so we have to register and get our passport photos taken, as well as fingerprints scanned. This all takes a long time and should be done prior to class start at 8:30am. I thought, I’d go to the nearby CVS drugstore and just pick up some Sudafed and I’d be good to go! But no, the CVS wouldn’t open until 8am, and I had to register, so I found myself at a gas station convenience store that didn’t sell Sudafed. So I got Benadryl.

The Benadryl sure kicked in and even though I had also enjoyed the Starbucks double shot with protein in a can, I just wanted to put my head down and go to sleep. This was not my first training, in fact, this is my third renewal, as I have been a notary public for 16 years. Thankfully. The meds dried up my sinuses, and I ceased being the loudest sneezer in the room.  But then the A/C kicked in, and I was sneezing anyway.  We finished a module (chapter) at 11:50 am and I seriously started packing my things.  But the instructor cheerfully informed us that we would be continuing.  Really?  At 12:06 pm,  I practically sprinted to the Starbucks, ordering myself a Venti Mocha and a breakfast sandwich.  Even though I had recently discovered cafe latte flavored nutritional shakes and kicked the Starbucks habit, I knew this day was different.  Upon finishing my meal, I got back in line where the barista remembered me, ha ha.  “You came back!”  he said. Uh, actually, I never even left.  I ordered a Venti Cold Brew for the afternoon.  I remember noting the time the Benadryl effects finally faded.  Oh, yay!  my medicine’s up!  Oh no, my medicine’s up!  What am I going to do? I didn’t think they’d let me bring my Kleenex box into the proctored exam.  Proctors, man.

I think I aced the exam, and I even managed to pre-order my kids’ prescriptions to the local pharmacy branch and picked them up on my way home, thank you very much.   #supermom

This is a long way of saying, yes, I still struggle with balance and wellness.  I am working on my next book, which contains stories and recipes, many from my mother’s island.  I was thinking about her oldest sister,my dear Auntie Ling, who has since passed away.  I remember her saying quite confidently and comedically, “None of that is mine,”  whenever someone else was crazy-making.

And I was inspired.  That’s really profound!  I often let the crazy-making of others affect my state of being.  You probably have heard the saying: “Not my circus, not my monkeys.”  This is the same thing, only more meditative. It’s hard to truly release the crazy-making circus monkeys when you are identifying them as such. Am I right?

So I started deep breathing and reciting in my mind: None of that is mine.  None of that is mine.  Then I switched it up so that “is Mine.” is on my inhale, and “None of that…” is on the exhale.  This is a little harder to do, and you have to concentrate to get it right.  But in my experience, it is so worth it. This way I can physically release the breath and psychically release the crazy-making  at the same time.    It’s my new meditative mindfulness mantra.

Try it and tell me what you think!

What mantra works for you?  Let us know in the comments!

3 thoughts on “Wednesday Wellness: Mantra

  1. Denise, I always enjoy your posts & what I am going to say next is a compliment, because it gives me a chance to have a ‘monkey mind’. I tend to be logical grounded, earth rooted so the flights your mind takes is interesting & amusing to me. Thanks for sharing experiences that occur as adventures.

  2. I had a TAFE teacher who used to say NMP (not my problem) constantly. She made us say it each morning before class to remember not to take on other people’s stuff. Hope your cold is getting better. I’m recovering from a nasty one too and I put it right down to forgetting ‘none of that is mine’.

  3. thanks for this lovely post. I hate getting sick before big events! You seemed to have done a great job though. Whenever I find myself in a tizzy I usually just keep repeating to myself that everything is ok, and will get done in due time. I don’t necessary repeat a mantra, but I sometimes do count my inhales and exhales which helps me to focus 🙂

Leave a Reply

