Friday Friends: Booklovers: Maile Alau

Happy Friday, Friends!  For the past year I’ve been interviewing authors and bloggers on Fridays.  This summer I decided to interview readers a.k.a #humanswholovebooks ! Please welcome my friend Maile Alau!

image

1. What are you reading right now?
Right now I’m actually re-reading the Harry Dresden series by Jim Butcher – I just finished White Knight. He does such an amazing job of creating this world where a wizard lives and works in modern day Chicago. I love it!
2. What did you read last?
Before Dresden, I was reading the Dark Legacy of Shannara series, which takes places several hundred years after the Shannara Chronicles. A fun journey back into that world.
3. What book has most influenced you?
That’s a tough one. Honestly, I would have to say that the books that most influenced me as an adult was the Sweet Potato Queens books by Jill Connor Browne. Great stories about women who are who they are and who live crazy mixed up lives and live to tell the tales – which are hilarious and full of food and alcohol. Lol.
4. How many books did you read last year?
Probably in the neighborhood of 35 – I usually do 3 books or so a month. I wish I could read more! Some of those are re-reads – I do love my favorite books.
5. What book would you recommend for your younger self?
I wish I had read the Sweet Potato Queens books in my early 20’s, rather than in my 30’s. I think all young 20 somethings should read the Tipping Point and Blink by Malcom Gladwell. Oh, and A Walk in the Woods by Bill Bryson so you don’t take yourself too seriously.
6. What book have you disliked?
I’m not sure because if I dislike it, I stop reading it and put it in the “forgettery” – Lol! If I don’t like a book, I tend to just walk away from it.
7. Do you prefer a genre?
Definitely fantasy/science fiction and young adult novels. I truly enjoyed the Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare and the Hunger Games series.
8. A popular book is becoming a film. Do you read the book first, or see the movie first?
I’ve done it both ways, and I would rather read the book first. Even if the film screws it up, I like having the background. That being said, what the movie did to Percy Jackson was criminal.
9. What would be the title of your life story?
How to find love and happiness despite yourself.
10. What is one thing you have learned from books?
Imagination and seeing the world through different lenses is the best gift you can give to yourself and your children. Even if all you read is fantasy and science fiction, you imagine new and different worlds and your mind expands.
11. Is there anything you would like to add?
My parents’ response to “I’m bored” when we were kids was “Go find a book.” I confess I say the same things to my kids. I have walked into so many households where there is nary a book to be found, and I think the very best thing a parent can do for their child is to encourage a love a reading. It will change that child’s world.

Have you read any of the books Maile mentioned? What did you think? 

Leave a Reply

