My Alaskan Cruise: Day 6

I’m writing about my recent cruise to Alaska.  Have you checked out my entries for the other days? I hope that by writing about it, you will be inspired to book your own vacations! Here’s what we did on Wednesday of the cruise.

Today is another Day at Sea and we do the morning breakfast routine.  There is not much different from other days, if you have been reading along.  Starbucks after the buffet. The weather is nice and there is not the crazy rocking that we enjoyed when we were sailing north a couple days ago. It has been very comfortable wearing  a t shirt or  tank top  with shorts or a skirt on the ship, just bring a sweater or jacket if you are on deck in the afternoon and evening.  It was too cold to for surf simulating or  rock wall climbing, but ping pong in the secret covered area is perfect.  The kids opted not to attend any of the kids club functions.  Sunset has been extremely late for us, around 10:30pm!  The return to ship time has also been comfortably late, as in 8:30pm.  We of course returned early for dinner and evening activities.  But I do recall that the return times were much earlier in the Mediterranean ports last year.

I liked Princess a lot, the food was slightly better, to be honest.  Princess is like the Bellagio Hotel in Las Vegas,- beautiful, fancy, chocolates on your pillow, maybe a little dated.  Royal Caribbean is like the Venetian Palazzo- newer bigger, and so many amenities- like the rock wall and surf simulator.  Not that we used them.  So Princess is just fine for us.  Know what I mean?  Royal Caribbean has a lot more families.

After brunch, we make our way to the lounge where the Spelling Bee will be held.  The girls are so happy to find the spot for their last elusive selfie from the selfie challenge yesterday, in this lounge.

Surprisingly, my son does not volunteer- although he is a Spelling Bee Champion, as well.  He just wants to watch.  That’s okay. There are about 8 individuals and some adults, some kids.  The hostess has an Australian accent, and she mispronounces the word Tyranny, and a foreign child gets it wrong.  An adult- an English teacher- wins.

We decide to swing by the Captain’s Corner in the theater, where the captain, cruise director, and hotel manager and another high official (engineer?) are taking questions.  It’s great fun, they are so comical.  I love when kids ask questions, like Who’s driving the boat? Have you ever hit an iceberg?  The boys will finish the entire session, but the rest of us gotta go see the Ice Skating show “Spirit of the Seasons” again.  The grandparents haven’t seen it in full yet (since it was cancelled during our first attempt at rocky seas), and we are trying to get the seats nearest the aisles where the performers invite little girls to be in the show.

We are so lucky to get the second row, so we strategically place my daughter on the aisle seat.  When the time comes, the performers are looking at the family in the first row, their little girl is not budging, however.  I see the performer start to look around for another participant, because the show must go on!  And I say to my daughter, stand up, and Go! Go! Go! The performer looks relieved.  I hope the first little girl’s parents are not mad at me, but she wasn’t moving!  So my daughter happily gets into position as they help guide her into the sled. What an experience for her!  I’m so happy she gets this chance of a lifetime.   This is during the Winter part of the show, and the performers are dressed in wintery attire, taking turns pushing the two little girls (one from the other side) around on the ice rink. The other day her brother had his moment in the spotlight, today is hers.  The smaller rink is an intimate venue, and the audience applauds warmly as she gets out of the sled and exits the rink.   Let me tell you, this is right up there with the first time she met the Princesses at Disneyland when she was 3 years old. #mommybeams

IMG_3468[1]

That’s my girl!

IMG_3475[1]

Spirit of the Seasons, Winter. 

I think this is the day they go back to ping pong, so I just do my own thing and find somewhere to read. The girl cousins create their own dance routines, entitled “Spirit of the Cousins.” I love how they incorporated ice skating moves into their dances. My eleven year old niece is lifting and spinning my eight year old daughter, and she loves it.

 

After a quick pseudo dinner in the Windjammer- it was closing so there was no good food available and I had to text my hubby to bring his daughter some pizza from downstairs- we head to the Ice Rink for Open Skate!  How many of you can say you’ve ice skated in the Pacific Ocean?  Actually, not me, as I decided to just watch. My back had just recovered from that first night on the sofa bed, and I didn’t want to risk hurting it.  My son and godson and I watched as my hubby and his sister took the two girls out for a skate. I really enjoyed watching the boys watch people fall.  The one time my daughter almost fell, she said it was fun!  That’s because her daddy and godmother each held one of her hands and she was saved.  IMG_3484[1]Watch her fall in slow motion on my godson’s video, which I will post at the end of these journals.

Afterwards, we head to the Theater for the evening performance. I always enjoy the music of a live band.  It is a nice time to relax and enjoy our Shirley Temples, even if sometimes we snicker a little during the performances.

We walk by Karaoke but since my song of choice was featured in the evening performance, I am not feelin’ it.   Dear Daughter knows when she is turning into a pumpkin and declares it her bedtime.   I bring her to the room and let the boys wander together.

Tomorrow is a Port day at Victoria on Vancouver Island in British Columbia, Canada!  I am so excited!  There will be beautiful flowers everywhere!

Have you been on a cruise?  Have you been to Alaska?  Drop me a line!

Leave a Reply

