My Alaskan Cruise: Day 5

Hello Friends! I’m in the middle of journaling my recent vacation: a family cruise to Alaska. I hope that in writing about our trips, you may be inspired to plan your own vacations, too!

We are awakened this morning by the announcement from our cruise director, stating that we are at Dawes Glacier  in the Tracy Arm Fjord and the captain will begin a 540 degree turn of the ship so that everyone can see it.  We are near the first viewing side, and let me tell you, it is majestic. It is a mile from my balcony.  I can’t help but think of how lucky we are to be able to see this beautiful side of nature in Alaska. We take photos, but we are still in pajamas, so after we rotate past, we go change so we have better clothes on for the next pass (and photos).  We observe calving, the collapsing of glacier parts into the sea. It is very noisy, it sounds like a  thunderous earthquake, even though only a little falls.  We train our binoculars onto the cotton candy pieces, but we do not see any seals or any other animals. Later this day we will see whales, which is so exciting!  Alas, they do  not photograph well, as they splash and disappear.

Enough talk.  Here are some pics of the Dawes Glacier.

IMG_3364[1]

IMG_3365[1]

IMG_3381[1]

IMG_3392[1]

IMG_3400[1]
We meet up with the rest of the family for breakfast in the buffet.   This is basically another day at sea, with the added bonus of glacier spotting in the morning. The 3 youngest kids enjoy a Selfie Scavenger Hunt activity, taking pictures of themselves all over the ship. I will be spending some time by myself this morning, I venture to the Chapel, but as half of it has been taken over by a baby play area, it’s kinda weak, in my humble opinion. Even better, however, is the Dizzy Gillespie Lounge, talk about a room with a view!  Surprisingly, most  folks up here are sleeping in chairs or reading books.  I thought about reading, but THIS VIEW!

IMG_3404[1]

The kids and my hubby and sis-in-law like to play ping pong.  So it seems like they go there a lot!       I am glad hubby has the sense to avoid this basketball challenge from our godson, after what happened last year on our Mediterranean cruise.  I will enjoy a Swedish Massage at the Spa today.  There is an Acupuncture seminar in the waiting room, so I enjoy part of that, as well.  The massage therapist is from England and she likes my sparkly pink nail polish.  🙂  This is a nice hour of bliss.

We quickly change into our formal night attire.  I am wearing the same charcoal dress and the silver side of my reversible necklace, hair up.

IMG_3903[1]We take some more formal photos, but there are too many of us on the backdrop, and it looks weird. I do wish I had maybe purchased a couple of them, but they wouldn’t let us combine pics from our 3 different family accounts into one discount purchase.  Annoying.

This evening we will enjoy another round of Shirley Temples as we enjoy another entertainer performance show.  This guy can really play the trumpet, man.  He’s got chops!  He also is kinda reminiscent of Tom Jones. Sometimes (more than half) the entertainment is watching the entertainment.  Am I right? It’s kind of cheesy and kind of funny, and still the talent of the live musicians shines through.  My mother would love it!   I don’t think my godson appreciated it though.  I think he was trying to fall asleep during it 🙂

Cheesecake lolly-pops before bed, and it’s another time change.  Time to set our clocks forward an hour to Pacific Daylight Savings Time.   Tomorrow will be another day at sea: a special opportunity at the Ice Show, and more ping pong and maybe Karaoke…

Leave a Reply

