My Alaskan Cruise: Day 2

I had slept on the pull-out sofa, which wasn’t good for my back.  The rocking of the boat was quite noticeable, it had grown from subtle to in-your-face.  I don’t mind the rocking, in fact I find it soothing to be rocked to sleep. But I decide to trade sleeping spots with my husband going forward.

Our extended family party of nine met for brunch in the Windjammer Café (buffet) again. There is a crew member assigned to greet diners and also squeeze hand sanitizer into our hands.  He proudly holds the big pouch of clear goo wrapped in a black cloth napkin.  That’s his job.  (Even though there are also three free-standing hand sanitizer dispensers beside him.)  I wonder, when they see the duties posted, do the crew members think “YAY!  I get to squeeze the goo!”  or “Pshaw, I get the goo again!”  We will see this gentleman on each of our seven mornings.

This is a day at sea, and we are happy to explore the ship. We spend time in the Arcade, which has vintage games such as Galaga/ Ms. Pac-Man, as well as air hockey and skee-ball. Great fun to reconnect with one’s inner child, am I right?

IMG_3101[1]

Kids, Let me show you how it’s done!

There is a Starbucks/ Ben & Jerry’s on the promenade deck,  we enjoy some girl time and my niece French braids my daughter’s hair.  I think this is the day we have soft serve ice cream, available on the pool deck, but we eat in inside because it is so cold, windy and wet on the pool deck.  We took this funny video of the Caution sign on the deck. Soon they would close off all exterior decks and place complimentary barf bags near the stairwells, as well as offer free sea sickness pills at the Guest Relations counter.  We have a quick bite of pizza from the  Café Promenade and make our way to the Theater which is showing the film Zootopia. It is fun to watch the film in this fancy theater.  There are some scary parts for little girls, but ultimately it is good fun.  I note that Star Wars: The Force Awakens will be playing during dinner tomorrow evening.  I’m so there!

 

We decide to dress now for Formal Night, before making our way to the Ice Skating Performance Show and then dinner. I’m so glad our luggage was found and we can wear the dresses and jewelry I had planned.  Tonight I am wearing my new charcoal scoop neck short dress, Mary Jane’s and this fabulous necklace from Premier Designs.  I am wearing the green side showing, with my hair down.   For our next formal night, I will wear the reverse silver side showing, and my hair up.  Here is a link to my friend Maria’s webpage where you can order your own reversible necklace and more. My daughter is proudly wearing her new dress (similar to her cousin’s) and reversing the brown belt to the black side, so that it matches her “fancy” black shoes.  The guys are wearing khaki’s and polo shirts, which are more comfortable.  We see hardly any tuxedoes  tonight, most men are dressed similarly or don sportcoats. My godson is looking dapper in his suit.  (I do notice a particular group of young girls who seem to casually walk by our party quite often!)

The ice show is entitled Spirit of the Seasons.  Royal Caribbean is the only cruise line with ice rinks on the ships.  It is 1/8th the size of a standard rink. which allows for a very intimate performance. (Later they will open the rink for All Skate sessions.)  It is wondrous seeing the first two numbers, but the rocking has accelerated and the Cruise Director walks on the ice to announce the suspension of the show, due to the safety of the performers. Completely understandable.  Here’s a lil snippet of what the waves looked like. We have some time before out dinner reservation, so we walk around taking photos. Dinner for a party of nine is challenging. I don’t know why the travel agent didn’t advise us to book our dining time early.  We had choices of 5:15pm or 8:30pm on most nights.  5:15 is fine when you are At Sea, but early if you are out on an excursion.  Every day some time was spent trying to change our reservations.  Kind of an annoyance, since it would have been avoidable had we been advised to select early or late dining, or at least book our “My Time” dining reservations earlier.

dining

Be Our Guest

We are seated near a window on the top floor of the three-floor dining room.  We have two tables pushed together four our large party.  This works better than a large circle table, actually.  It’s easier to sit next to who you want to talk to.  We have noticed that when your party contains children, they tend to seat you in the corners.  This is to our advantage, actually, as we can enjoy views from the windows. The food is not bad, the desserts are pretty good.  (The kids desserts on Princess were better than the kids desserts on Royal.)

 

We take formal pictures, as well as pose in all combinations ad nauseum for casual pics.  Then our group separates and my sister-in-law and I take the kids to the production show in the Theater.  We order Shirley Temples, Cherry Cokes, or Virgin Pina Coladas for all, and enjoy the show.  Afterwards, we swing by the Karaoke event, but my nerves kick in and there are no new songs in the karaoke book.  We say good night, as Dear Daughter knows when she’s turning into a pumpkin.  It is still light out!   A swan towel awaits us in the room (but no chocolates).

swan

Tomorrow we will be at sea in the morning, and port in Juneau I can’t wait to share with you all my pictures of the gorgeous glaciers, cool wildlife, and especially the cute puppies!  That’s what it’s all about, on this Alaskan cruise.

 

 

Leave a Reply

