Friday Friends: Author Molli Moran

Happy Friday, Friends! I love to spotlight authors and bloggers on Fridays. It is my way of giving back to the book community, which has been so inspiring for me. Today I am delighted to present Author Molli Moran!

image
1. So, what have you written?

I’m the author of the Walker Boys series, as well as a standalone (for now) romance, One Song Away. They’re all sort of a crossover between New Adult and adult contemporary romance.

image2. What subjects & causes are near and dear to your heart?

I’m a big supporter of the movement for YA literature (and really, all literature) to include more diverse characters and books. I try to read and champion as many LGBTQ+ YA and Romance books as I can.

3. Are you a Pantser or a Planner?

I’m more of a connect-the-dots writer. I go into my books knowing a few major threads and then the fun part of writing a book is weaving all them together.

4. Tell us about your love of Southern small towns?

Oh, Southern small towns. I’ve spent some time in big cities but at heart, I adore small towns. The camaraderie between people, the stories they all know about each other–it’s heartwarming.

5. What is one unusual thing about you?

Hmm, probably that I was born three months premature, weighing on 1 lb 12oz. I’m totally healthy now though. 🙂

6. What music inspires you?

Everything! I listen to a lot of country music when I’m writing, but pop, singer-songwriter, country, even some classic rock normally. I love music. I’m always making playlists and I always have music going.

7. How many books did you read last year?

About 20. I used to be a much more voracious reader but that’s slowed down in the last few years.

8. Ranch or Blue Cheese?

Always ranch!

9. What are you working on right now?

I’m working on ONE HEART LIKE MINE, the first companion to my ONE SONG AWAY. It follows runner, journalist, and out lesbian Sloane as she falls in love with a bisexual friend who is realizing her sexuality.

10. What tv shows/ movies are you watching these days?

I don’t watch a lot of movies but I *love* TV. I’m rewatching The Vampire Diaries from the beginning (Team Stefan, always), and I also love Supernatural, Doctor Who, Arrow, The Flash, and Supergirl.
11. Do you have a theme song?

Probably “Fight Song” because it’s really special to me.

12. What is one thing you would tell your younger self?

I’d tell my younger self to not be afraid to be who you are–that eventually, you get to, without fear, and it’s amazing. Growing up knowing I was gay but not being ready to admit it meant my teen years were scary. I wish I’d known then what I know now. 🙂

13. Is there anything else you would like to share with us today?

Yes! I co-run a romance authors/readers group on Facebook called Romance Readers Anonymous. I’d love to invite any of your blog readers to join us (http://facebook.com/groups/romancereadersanon) and thank you, Denise, for having me today. This was so much fun. ❤

Molli Moran | Author of small-town romances with heat, charm, and heart

AS YOU TURN AWAY available now in e-book and paperback.
Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | iBooks

Author Site: Molli Writes
Author Blog: Books and Whimsy
Twitter: @MissMolliWrites
Facebook: Author Molli Writes
Newsletter sign-up: http://eepurl.com/KI9m1

image

Leave a Reply

