Wednesday Wellness: Focus

Wellness Wednesday is a series on wellness topics. I started writing this series when I noticed that many of my writer friends and creative types struggle with balance and wellness,  as do I.

I started a cleanse at the beginning of June. This is a dedication to clean eating, and every few days- drinking only this special tea-like product.  Something about being on a cleanse just helps me focus.  And when I can focus better, comes clarity- sometimes.

I also had the opportunity to work with life coach Reba Linker regarding my tendency to collect clutter. We spoke at length and she recommended a book for me to read. I ordered it right away- and even though I haven’t been able to start reading it just yet, just having the conversation and the mindset has already helped me.

I began the weekend sorting through the seasonal laundry pile a.k.a tower of terror. You know that pile in the closet behind the hamper where the bulky winter sweaters go when you don’t feel like dealing them just yet, because, this is California and summer weather starts in February?  Bueller?  Ok, well I kept a few and donated most.  Also I did another book and cd purge and identified 40 items to trade in =$20.  Not bad. I did also find an older copy of that book ”Clear Your Clutter with Feng Shui” so I’m returning the newly purchased one for $12. See?  I’m also saving money.  No really, I gathered all the loose coins that accumulate in the bottoms of bags and purses- and found another $20.  Go me.

At the day job, it was time for me to again update another cycle of productivity onto a historical spreadsheet.  I have come to dislike this activity, as the spreadsheet keeps crashing. It is now entitled “Backup_Recovered_Productivity Analysis 2015-2016 (repaired)” – you see what I mean.  It’s a ton of manual input.  I decided to wear my glasses instead of contacts for this update, and lo and behold, it went much faster, easier, and was much less frustrating.

wink

Also during this cleanse, which I have done many times before, you get really good at setting goals. Like, on Saturday I am going to have Cheez-its.  Or, on Sunday we are going to International House of Pancakes.  (How else should one break fast? I mean, c’mon.)  Look at that-  two goals accomplished. Check. Check.

You also get really good at meditating. Visualizing my new favorite fish tacos.  Light white fish, beer battered, white sauce and cabbage with lime in a corn tortilla.  I can just feel the cool cabbage on my teeth and the taste the white fish on my tongue.  Feels like I am on vacation in Southern California, or maybe Ensenada, Mexico. Can you hear the birds?  Do you want a Sangria?

During this special time that is the end of the school year and the beginning of summer, I have thought a lot about milestones and goals. My oldest advanced from 8th grade (ok- graduated) and we celebrated his achievements.  I’ve calendared their summer activities and I’m planning the family vacation.  It’s what we do.

Soon after I had ordered my weekly planner for this year, I started following a lovely biz-wellpreneur on Facebook. Well, I decided I just couldn’t wait until next year to get her special weekly planner, so I just bought the one for 2016.  I know it‘s mid-year, but it’s a great time to re-focus, right?  Solstice and all…

It was shipping from Australia, so I resigned myself to wait. Imagine my surprise when I received an email message this morning with tracking information indicating it had arrived at the post office in my town!  Amazing!

It’s the first day of summer!

 What are you focusing on?

 

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “Wednesday Wellness: Focus

  1. I just went through my dresser applying the Japanese art of konmari to my clothes…it was amazing! I feel such joy whenever I open my drawers! Decluttering is SO liberating!

    • Thank you so much for your comment! I started KonMari-ing last summer but had to stop because everything brought me joy. I do love my rainbow- ordered hanging shirts and blouses, though. That makes me happy.

  2. It’s such a good feeling when we start to declutter. I started on my wardrobe yesterday and already feel lighter and more organised, though the job isn’t finished. I agree when you’re doing a cleanse you have the urge to clean and sort everything. Enjoy those pancakes, you’ve earned them.:)

  3. Thank you! It is funny I am even ready to let go a couple of “friendships” that have been lopsided and burdensome. I am just grateful to be in this space.

  4. Beautiful post! I recently moved across the country and had a two month period of detoxification along with the Kon-Mari Method. It was truly transformational for my state of energy and focus!

    • Hi Jessie! Thank you for your comment. It is true that moving- especially cross-country- invites one to consider their possessions. Clearing clutter is like a detox, you’re so right. Just like a cleanse is a detox from bad food. Thank you for that insight.

  5. Thank you so much Reba for the inspiration and your comment! I am extremely grateful for you and your leadership in the group.

  6. I’ve been in a decluttering mode for a few months myself, Denise. I find the summer is a time to be “out” in the world and I always look forward to shedding heavy winter clothes and to being out in nature with a blue sky and clouds above me. It sounds like you are facing the new season with a committed resolve and that you are decluttering your body and your physical space. As far as your food thoughts…keep going. That changes when you balance your blood sugar. Having been there many years ago, it is possible! Enjoy the summer too.

  7. Several weeks ago I took on a week declutter & I couldn’t get into the daily challenge but wanted to get something from it, so I committed to throwing something away daily, or giving something away. I love doing it this way. It is so much easier & more pleasant than taking on the basement. I can go down , look around, grab a few puzzles & deliver them to the library- easy peasy & i accomplished something.
    I love seeing my rainbow colored summer tops lined up. Right now they are on my doorknobs cause Im not ready to put inside my closet.
    Recently did a cleanse/reset thru Beverley Golden’s Usana & that got me wanting to eat cleaner so Im in a 7 day FB challenge- So far first 3 days are easy- group posts a lot- very supportive & I’m into it.

    • That’s great! I am happy you are in a good group. Once I was in an FB group that was no fun, they kept posting their “before” pictures which I thought looked nice (but they all said how unhappy they were) and things like “I am so excited to have my Snack of Ten almonds!” So I didn’t feel comfortable participating.

Leave a Reply

