Friday Friends: K.M. Randall

Happy Friday, Friends!  Today I am delighted to feature author K. M. Randall!  Take it away, K.!

1. So, what have you written?

In terms of books, I’ve written Fractured Dream (The Dreamer Saga), which is the first in an epic fantasy series. I’ve also written The Reaper’s Daughter, a YA Paranormal novel, also a first in a series. As a Wattpad exclusive (for the time-being), I published Fairytale Lost, the prequel to Fractured Dream. Outside of books, I’ve worked in newspapers, magazines, online media, so I’ve written a lot.

2. What subjects & causes are near and dear to your heart?

I’d say the environment is very important to me. Some of my favorite authors are nature writers like Annie Dillard and Bill McKibben. I try to insert environmental elements in all my books. I’ve also thought about getting involved in anti-bullying organizations. I have a young son and it terrifies me how social media has given bullying such reach. It’s an epidemic.

3. How did you conceive Fractured Dream?

Fractured Dream was inspired by several factors. I had a dream about a girl who lived in two worlds, and at the same time I was reading the Time Traveler’s Wife, which made me think about the physical body and time and space. It was all kind of a light bulb, and suddenly I had the idea of a girl who lived in a real world when she was awake and slipped into another, but also real, fantasy-like world when she went to sleep. It has the elements of a portal story as well, which came from my desire as a kid to find a lake that would take me to a fairy world.

image

4. How did you conceive The Reaper’s Daughter?

Strangely, I was looking out the window of my home office and watching the crows that were in the trees and a line about death slipped through my mind, making me think about a young girl who finds out she’s Death.
image
5. What was the most curious thing you discovered in your research?

I can’t think of one thing, specifically. But I’m learning a lot right now about dolphins, which are relevant to a new Sci-Fi novel I’m working on.

8. Coffee or Tea?

I like both, but definitely coffee. There’s no blood in my veins, just coffee … and wine.

9. What are you working on right now?

I am currently working on the sequel to Fractured Dream, called Shattered World. I’m also working on a Sci-Fi YA romance that I’m currently titling Sea Shifter. The title could change though.

10. Do you have any writing rituals?

Nothing crazy. I like quiet, my office, and coffee … Always coffee.

11. Do you have a theme song?

I don’t have one specific, but right now I’m feeling kinship with “Shake it Out” by Florence Against the Machine. This because, as people may have heard, my publisher Booktrope announced its closing, so it’s been a lot of shaking it off and out and taking a breath to move on. I’m also feeling “Closer to Fine” by the Indigo Girls. I sing it to my five-year-old at bedtime and he sings it with me, so it’s really special.

12. What is one thing you would tell your younger self?

I’d probably tell my younger self to take care of myself better. And to write more.

13. Is there anything else you would like to share with us today?

Although my publisher is closing I will still be writing, and may have found one of my titles a new home already. So I’ll be back. In the meantime, I’m running a close-out sale. Fractured Dream is available at a discounted rate at $2.00 on Amazon right now and The Reaper’s Daughter is 99 cents. Thanks for having me! You can always find me at http://www.KMRandallAuthor.com.

image
https://www.amazon.com/Fractured-Dream-Dreamer-Saga-Book-ebook/dp/B00JG8U6TC?ie=UTF8&qid=1462630569&ref_=tmm_kin_swatch_0&sr=8-1

https://www.amazon.com/Fractured-Dream-Dreamer-Saga-Book-ebook/dp/B00JG8U6TC?ie=UTF8&qid=1462630569&ref_=tmm_kin_swatch_0&sr=8-1

I am going to get Reaper’s Daughter right now! Who’s with me? 

Leave a Reply

