Wednesday Wellness: Reflecting on Holy Week

This week is the confluence of Spring Equinox, Holy Week, and a Full Moon Eclipse.  My friends and creatives, are you feeling a little March Madness?

One of my favorite words is juxtaposition. As I quiz my son on geography, I find myself delighted with the word “confluence .”  I happened upon this gem of a question: What is the river and estuary formed by the confluence of the Uruguay River and the Paraná River on the border between Argentina and Uruguay? (Rio de la Plata)  Isn’t that question just filled with musical words? Alas, I digress.

I, myself, am a confluence of sorts. I’m Pacific Islander and Caucasian, light and dark, religious and spiritual, traditional and liberal, a zip-liner and a bookworm.  Maybe my constant struggle for balance is rooted here.  But I wouldn’t have it any other way.

So as I attempt to harmonize my new understandings with the faith of my childhood, I give you these for your consideration.

  1. The Miracles of Santo Fico

I reread this book every year at Holy Week. It is a delightful tale of a dysfunctional  parish in a forgotten town. Think: Chocolat in Italy.  It reminds me how even in the bad times, miracles occur. I love I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve read this book. It’s a slow beginning but I just love the character interactions. Many times I’ve stayed up too late, reading until I got to a favorite scene.

This is the first time I’m reading it since visiting Italy. I have to say, now that I’ve experienced the unforgiving sweltering heat of July, I can really empathize with these characters even more.

Finally, I remember my dear friend Alva who has now gone to heaven. Last year, I gave her a copy and she read along with me. I miss her so, and she was gone too soon. Now reading this story I remember our special connection. And I hope one of her friends or family members finds the book so that they, too, can enjoy the Miracles of Santo Fico.

2. The Passion Live

This brave production tells the story of Jesus’ last days via popular music and is set in New Orleans. It’s a blend of old and new, traditional and contemporary.  It’s refreshing, although the em-ceeing, reporting, and commercials I could do without.  But we are human.  (see #1) the songs are available on iTunes and the live broadcast is available on Hulu.com.

3. Check Your Alignment

Reaching into my wellness toolkit, I modified a breathing meditation/ visualization in which I sent love and energy to parts of my body- to my chakras.    Chakras are centers of energies: there are seven. Here is a good overview by renowned meditation expert and author Deepak Chopra:    As a poet, have come to understand the chakras as virtues:  Stability, Creativity, Confidence, Lovingkindness, Truth, Clarity, and Peace. I have found as I focus on chakras, my feelings become more balanced. Keep in mind that the thing you desire just may be overstimulated, and you may have to pull back.  My heart chakras, Lovingkindness, has long been out of balance, as I tend to be too generous with my time, to the point of self-neglect. Who’s with me, here? Anyone? Bueller?  I’ve got a long way to go.

Spring Blessings, Joyous Passover, & Happy Easter.

Namaste.

 

Do you honor Spring Equinox and/or Holy Week? What do you do? Please comment and share.  I’d love to hear from you. 

6 thoughts on “Wednesday Wellness: Reflecting on Holy Week

  1. I enjoyed your March madness, as the weather here came in like a lion and has been relentless with the recreation from all of the forest fires. This somehow has created a cleansing that is spirit, body and mind. Best of luck to you, as you cleanse.

  2. You have a magical way with words, Denise. I love how your reflections on a favorite book become a reflection about a dear friend who passed; the layers of experience add so much poignancy to what you share. Right now, I’m celebrating the holiday of Purim, which is a confluence (wonderful word) of secrets and revelations, miracles and heroism, humility and arrogance, with bold reversals of fortune at every turn. You would love this story, regardless of religious orientation. xo, Reba

    • Thank you so much, Reba, I do feel that Alva is reading along with me even now. And thank you also for sharing about Purim 💙

  3. thank you for including Passover in your wishes. I love reading your posts. The words are musical and visual. The thoughts do seem to come from a confluence of your heart and mind.

Leave a Reply

