Wednesday Wellness: Plan to Have Fun

Today for Wednesday Wellness I am writing about planning, that is, planning to have fun.  Despite being an extreme INFP (this means non-planner), I have found that taking the time to plan is invaluable.

I am an Administrative Assistant by day, and a Manager of a household of a family of four. I manage my executives’ expenses and calendars, as well as my family’s. When I map out my weekends, everybody has what they need and everybody gets to their activities on time.  Managing a household of a family of four people- each with divergent needs- presents its own challenges.  OH, and I’ve managed my Christmas/Birthday Shopping List by spreadsheet for um, 12 years now.  Hey, it works.

But sometimes I just want to not plan and relax.  Guess what, I have to plan to do so.  Like for my birthday, for instance.  There were no outstanding obligations, and then it rained (in California!  Wuhoo!), so I was delighted.  I planned to meet my besties for my annual birthday brunch, then I picked up a special light bulb for my new piano lamp (birthday gift from my husband and kids) and then I played piano in the afternoon.  For dinner we met up with my parents and my sister’s family to celebrate my own birthday, as well as my mother’s and father’s birthdays (yes, we all have out birthdays within 8 days, the week before Christmas!  My poor sister- the June baby- at least she has the month all to herself!) Then afterwards we headed over to the award winning Christmas Lights crazily lit house  in the next town.  Delightful Birthday.

I have a new planner by Bloom, which I love because it has some cool reflection pages.  Here’s how I am managing this week.

PTHF

PLAN, to have FUN!

Here at my day job, one of the six documents to be presented at this afternoon’s board subcommittee arrived late.  Four others had last minute revisions, some multiple revisions.  Good thing I planned to hang out on campus today, in case I was needed.

Now I can write a nice green check on my planner:  next to Write Blog Post.

How do YOU plan to have fun?

 

 

2 thoughts on “Wednesday Wellness: Plan to Have Fun

  1. Isn’t it sad that we have to actually PLAN to have fun these days? But it’s necessary in order to recharge…or we’d never be able to get the other stuff done! I use a Google calendar on my laptop & phone, which have reminders that alert me 1 hour & 15 mins prior to important events. Thanks for a fun read!

  2. Happy Birthday, Denise – it sounds like your birthday was a combination of planned and unplanned – I think that’s the magic balance right there. I admire your organizational skills – that desk calendar even looks color coded – wow! xox, Reba

Leave a Reply

