Wednesday Well-check

image

Have you noticed that we writers and creatives seem to be burdened with depression and stress and more?  I struggle with balance, too. So I decided to start writing about Wellness on Wednesdays.

Here in the United States, we honor our Veterans today, and this means a paid holiday for government, schools, and banks. A lot of businesses remain open and offer perks for Veterans. I schedule appointments today, including a wholistic massage from my favorite intuitive healer. And because my children have no school, I’m sharing my hour with them. We will each get twenty minutes.  In fact, I am writing this post as I sit in the lovely welcome area, listening to the music of a water fountain .

I’m also finishing a 3 day “Refresh” which is a nutritional program. It is mostly shakes plus organic clean foods. Not gonna lie, it’s not easy.  I’ve done other cleanses before and this is the most gentle. I do feel that it’s reset my metabolism somewhat, and for that I am grateful. I am making sure to drink enough water, which helps. I have headaches, likely due to the lack of caffeine. I am enjoying caffeine-free herbal tea, and that also helps.

Funnily enough, I also find that watching TV helps my overall happiness and balance.  The family enjoys watching a show together. Then after the children go to sleep, my husband and I enjoy watching a comedy and laughing together.

What are some things you are doing for your own wellness practice?

6 thoughts on “Wednesday Well-check

  1. I try to have a green smoothie most mornings. It’s an easy way to make sure I get my greens, protein & fruit in for the day. It usually includes 2 types of fruit, a handful of one of these spinach/kale/lettuce, celery, cucumber, unsweetened almond milk, 1 scoop of Vegan, GF protein powder. I’d never be able to eat that much in one sitting, but blended into a smoothie, it’s very filling & delicious. I also enjoy ending the day with a comedy sitcom! Laughter is the best medicine for sure! 🙂

  2. Dee, I love this idea of a mid-week wellness check! I try to be good to myself every day, but to consciously take a day to check-in feels like a great practice.

    The things I need to feel my best are walks in nature, drinking lots of water, connecting with people, connecting with animals and laughing. I really notice when I’m out of balance with one or all of these.

    Thanks for your post!

  3. I love this post, Denise, and the wonderful example you are setting of self-love and self-care for your children, and for all of us who get to vicariously share in your Wellness Wednesday via these posts! Thank you! xox, Reba

Leave a Reply

