A Room with a View

I have always loved the book and 1985 movie A Room with a View. I found that I related to ingenue Lucy Honeychurch and her portrayal by young Helena Bonham Carter. There’s this funny line

IMG_8014-1.PNG

which cracked me up, because my own sweet mother has told me she didn’t like when I would play Queen’s Bohemian Rhapsody on the piano, because it made me “hyper.”

IMG_8016-1.JPG

Now, I enjoy watching these scenes with fabulous British actors. Emma Thompson’s Sense and Sensibility is another film that is delightful to watch now, as many actors were reunited in the Harry Potter movies. Alas, I digress.

Earlier this summer, my daughter and I had occasion to sit outside at lovely church grounds, however there were no chairs. I thanked my lucky stars and my California county for banning plastic grocery bags, as ever since the ban, I’ve been toting these cute little convenient bags that fold up into another bag. I smiled as I recalled how my own grandmother used to tote these bags in the 80’s.

IMG_8017-1.JPG

And I was again grateful that I had two of these bags so that I could place them down and neither my daughter or I would need to dirty our pretty dresses.

And then I remembered that the two older women in A Room With A View had such an occasion where they did not want to sit on dirt:

IMG_8015-0.PNG

And it hit me. I am no longer the Ingenue.

I am a Crone.

IMG_7957-0.PNG

Leave a Reply

